Thursday, April 18, 2013

Y T L Contesting In Likas State Constituency

Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) president Datuk Yong Teck Lee will contest the Likas state seat in the general election on May 5.

Its president Datuk Eric Majimbun, who is not defending the Sepanggar parliamentary seat that he won in the last general election, is contesting the Inanam state seat.

Majimbun is making way for entrepreneur Chin Hon Kiong to contest the Sepanggar parliamentary seat.

SAPP vice-president Datuk Dr Chua Soon Bui will defend the Tawau parliamentary seat while the party's wanita head, Melanie Chia will defend the Luyang state seat.

When announcing the list of candidates in Kepayan, near here Wednesday night, Yong said SAPP planned to contest in 41 state seats and eight parliamentary seats.

The former Sabah chief minister announced 38 candidates out of the 41 seats it planned to contest and all the eight candidates for the parliamentary seats.

"In constituencies where the SAPP is not contesting, we will give our support to the candidate of the strongest opposition party," he said.